Home Censorship Facts You Must Know About Book Censorship

Facts You Must Know About Book Censorship

Facts You Must Know About Book Censorship

What is Book Censorship?

Book Censorship is the act of banning a publication in the form of a book
resulting from content that is perceived to be objectionable, incendiary,
illicit, or immoral by the presiding governmental body of a specific country or
nation. The nature of Book Censorship varies greatly on both domestic and
international levels, as well as public and private institutions.

In many cases, the party responsible for an
institution’s funding may reserve the right to regulate the censorship of books
within circulation. However, due to the modernization of censorship laws within
the United States, the Federal Government will rarely call for specific,
nationalized Book Censorship unless the content is agreed to be detrimental to
the public well-being.

Book Censorship and Government

The methodology of rule varies amongst individual countries and nations alike. In
certain locations, Book Censorship is deemed to be unlawful. However, in other
locations, publications that are perceived to be in direct contrast with
theocratic or moral standards may undergo Book Censorship.

Censored Books

The following are 10 books in which their respective banning has been
commonplace on both international and domestic levels:

1.    Candide written by Voltaire
2.    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn written by Mark Twain
3.    Brave New World written by Aldous Huxley
4.    1984 written by George Orwell
5.    The Catcher in the Rye written by J.D. Salinger
6.    Lolita written by Vladimir Nabokov
7.    I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings written byMaya Angelou
8.    The Anarchist Cookbook written by William Powell
9.    The Satanic Verses written by Salman Rushdie
10.    Harry Potter Series written by J.K. Rowling.